NPPL
FREE TO JOIN!  |  CONTACT  |  FAQ
 
Welcome. You are not signed in. New Member  0 items - $0.00
About Us
Contact Us
Register To Play
Season Details
Tournament Rules
FAQ's
Notice Board
Corporate Events
Jobs
Gallery
Terms & Conditions
Shipping / Refunds
Payment Options
Privacy & Security
Terms & Conditions
Help
NPPL
Home  arrow  Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Tournaments

Q. How many chips do we start with?
A.
You start with a $4000 stack, at 25/50 blinds.

Q. Is there any minimum spend at the bar?
A.
There is no minimum spend at the bar, however we encourage you to support your venues through food and drinks so that they may continue to host poker.

Q: Are the NPPL rules different to other leagues?
A.
Where possible we use a standard set of Texas Hold'em rules, that can be found here. At times our Tournament Hosts may have to bend rules or make tough decisions in order to adapt the game to the amatuer and fun environment that we play in. To the best of our ability we will teach you and apply our rules, which have been adapted from Robert's Rules of Poker by Bob Ciaffone, the leading authority on Texas Hold'em rules.

Regionals/Nationals

Q: Where do I find information on the Regionals/Nationals?
A.
Please check the Special Events page of the website from the menu at the top of this page titled 'Special Events'.

Q. I won entry into a Regional/National tournament, when will you contact me?
A.
Qualifiers lists are posted up on the site for your information, and you must go directly to your host to RSVP. We do not take RSVP's through the website, nor do we send out invitations to individual invitees.

Q: I didn't win a weekly tournament, but made many final tables during the season. Any hope I can go to the Regionals?
A.
Yes, there is hope. If you finish in the top 5 point scorers at your venue (which excludes those who have automatically won a seat) you will win entry into the Regional Finals.

Q: I'm a good player, but haven't qualified. Can I go to the Regionals?
A.
No.

Q: How do I qualify for the National Finals?
A.
You must finish in the Top 25 in any Regional Final, be a top 200 point scorer across NZ across the entire year. Monthly finals also supply qualifiers to the National finals. List of those who have qualified via Regionals or Monthly finals can be found here.

Points and Rankings

Q: I won a tournament but my points are not showing up, why?
A.
If you won in the last 2-3 weeks, it's likely the Top 8 sheet for that venue simply hasn't been entered into the system yet. If it has been longer than that, please Contact Us as it may be missing for a different reason.

Q: I am appearing twice in the rankings, what should I do?
A.
If your name appears twice or is mis-spelt, you need to Contact Us. You may have multiple accounts on the system which is causing a split in your points and ranking. Simply let us know and we will consolidate them for you.

Q: What is my Player ID/Membership #/Username for?
A.
This is used by data entry to identify your account when the points are entered from the top 8 sheet. If your name is something common, say Joseph Smith, and you put Joe Smith on a Top 8 sheet with no other details, how can data entry tell if you and Joseph are the same person? Your Player ID, Membership # and Username are more unique - whereas your name may not be - so please always include your Player ID or Username on any Top 8 sheet you fill out.

Rules

Q: Why is the small blind on the button during head's up?
A.
Pre-flop, you must always deal away from the button so therefore you must deal to the big blind first. Post-flop, although the big blind is first to act (when normally the small blind would be), the dealer is a more important position and must always retain the right to act last.

Q: I heard/read/saw that if a player acts out of turn, they are forced to check. Is this correct?
A.
In professional tournaments - yes. This is so players cannot deliberately force other people out of a hand, e.g. if you go all in and they intended to just bet minimum. Some players use out of turn as a strategy and this is why that rule was invented. However, at your events there will be players who act out of turn simply because they are excited, they don't know the rule about going out of turn, or because players before them do not make their action clear. However as more players get to the know the rules, it is commonly accepted that a play out of turn will invoke the enforced check or call penalty.

Q: Can a player fold their hand at any time?
A.
NO! Folding is an action, therefore it can only be done in turn. It does not matter who is at your table, or how friendly you are, it's the rules! Why? Some players make their decisions based on how many people are in the hand. If you're holding a marginal hand like J,8 off-suit at an 8 person table, and 6 other people have called an $800 big blind, you would assume that they have pocket pairs, high connectors, suited connectors, etc and have you beat, so you fold. If you were last to act and you folded your J,8 FIRST, then other players with marginal hands might be tempted to stay in because they know they have less people to beat before they have to act. If you need to get up from the table during a folded hand, you shouldn't throw it away before the action gets to you. Proper etiquette is to tell the floor person you would like to be folded (since we do not have a separate dealer).

Q: If a player puts a single chip out that is greater than the current bet without saying anything, is it just a call?
A.
If you put out a single chip greater than the current bet in a ring game without verbalizing a raise, it is considered a call only, however at NPPL this will always be considered a raise. Why? If the bet is $200, and a player puts out a $1000 chip without saying anything, most of them will consider it a raise because they do not know the rules. Other players will then quickly act on this raise. Players also then have the opportunity to use this as strategy - if they put that $1000 chip out hoping to bet people out but someone calls, they can say "no, it's only a call, don't you know that rule??". The problem with this is that if players have already mucked their cards, they are dead and cannot be played, thus making it a cheap way to get a few players out of a pot.

Q: If a player exposes one or both of their cards while the hand is still being played, is their hand dead?
A.
No. They suffer the disadvantage for that hand, however in pro tournaments they would likely be penalized in some way. If a player accidentally does it, for example if they are all in but there are still other players to call, they are still in the hand. If a player does it more than once, they will receive a warning and possibly be ejected from the tournament.

Q: Why is it bad if I or a player says something like "who has the Ace for the flush?!"?
A.
If you have played poker before, and gotten into the danger of flopping a straight without seeing the flush draw on the board, you'll know the pain of being beaten at showdown when you thought you had the best possible hand. It is a player's responsibility to read the board, and if you're the player with the sneaky little flush, you can suckout a lot of money from a hand if other player's don't suspect you of having anything. This is why you should NEVER read the board. You should never point out what cards are needed to make a certain hand or what hands are possible. Not only is it bad etiquette, you could be destroying someone's game plan.

Q: If a player goes all in above the current bet amount, but less than the minimum raise, can the other players just call the all in amount?
A.
As per the betting rule - all bets must be equal to or greater than the previous bet or raise - the subsequent players after the all in must make sure that the player going all in has met these criteria. For example: BB 200, player 1 raises to 500 (300 raise), player 2 minimum raise is (800). If player 2 goes all in for 650, he has not met the minimum raise. Therefore all subsequent players must match the 800 bet, not the 650, as 800 is the minimum raise. (please note this variation is not played in the North Island. North Island play - you may flat-call the all-in raise).

Q: Why has the host made a ruling that is different to that stated in the rules?
A:
The host is expected to make a ruling that is in the best interests of the game. On occasion this may necessitate them not following the rules as stated. An example may be that a new player mucks their cards on the big blind where there is no raise. A host may allow the player to retrieve their cards the first time this happens with a warning that the next time they will not be allowed to do so.

Other

Q: What should I do if I have a problem or complaint?
A.
Please Contact Us so we can help you resolve it.

 Back